• Compare the best auto warranty companies now!
  • CarShield

    3.59 out of 5

    Avg. Deductible

    $100


    Effective

    30 day(s)

    Avg. Plan Length

    2 to 5 years


    Established In

    2005

    Company Location

    Saint Peters, MO


    Complaint Resolution

    No

    How many vehicles would you like to protect?

    About CarShield

    CarShield offers low, monthly payment plans to fit every wallet and every vehicle. Whether you've purchased a brand-new car or you’re looking for additional coverage on an older car, we have comprehensive comparisons to find the right package for you. CarShield offers coverage on pricey items like transmissions and even smaller, routine repairs such as alternators and power window motors. 24-hour roadside assistance, towing, and rental coverage are just a few of the features offered in our customizable plans.

    Review Composite Score

    3.59/5    Very Good

    Based on 110 Reviews

    J N.

    05/31/2021

    I went to my favorite car dealership for service and when asked about my warranty program, they informed me that they do not honor CarShield. In fact, CarShield doesn't pay their bills and that's why they stop supporting them. They take everyone else but CarShield. I'm dropping them after only being with them for 1 month.

    Willard N.

    05/31/2021

    CAR SHIELD IS A BIG RIP OFF....I HAVE A 2007 KIA THAT SITS AT MY HOUSE NO REPAIR FOR 2 TEARS...I HAD A WRECKER CO. TO TAKE IT TO THE KIA DEALERSHIP AND CARSHIELD DID NOT LOOK AT IT... I KEPT CALLING CARSHIELD BUT THATS AS FAR AS IT GOT...i THAN K GOD FOR PEOPLE LIKE (WILLIAM B) FOR SAYING THE MOVIE ACTORS FOR CARSHIELD IS BULL CRAP..DO NOT BUY..CARSHIELD UNDER NO CONDITIONS...IF CARSHIELD RIP ME OFF IT WILL RIP YOU OFF.....CARSHIELD IS BAD ...DIRTY ....PEOPLE AGAIN DONT BUY UNLESS YOU WANT TO BE RIPED OFF LIKE I WAS...I HAVE ALL THE PAPER WORK TO PROVE IT

    James A.

    05/31/2021

    After contacting CS to start a claim they stated the part was not covered and would not give authorization for repair. Once part was removed it was determined that the failure was from an internal lubricated part, which is covered. Asked for authorization for repair. Took them 5 days to get an inspector to dealership after they said it would be 24 hours. By this time dealer had repaired car. CS would not pay the $3000 repair bill because it was not pre authorized. Independent inspector stated CS only pays 1 in 5 claims! I feel like I have been defrauded. I talked to the highest supervisor they would transfer me too, after being cut off 2 separate times. Also “mechanic” that reviewed and initially denied my claim stated that their was a know issue with this part on this vehicle. Makes me think they denied my initial request for authorization for repair to create the scenario of no preauthorization to keep from pay claim. Stay far away from CS. There has to be better companies out there. Also Mr. Ice T, if I were you I would think twice about putting my name on a company that has such awful reviews!

    Susan W.

    05/26/2021

    If you REALLY want to enter the depths of HELL, Carshield will get you there,-FAST.

    Steve W.

    05/25/2021

    I had to leave the Carshield Extended Warranty program because when my car broke down the guy at the Chevy Dealership said they Don't honor Carshield or the other program that's also sponsored by Car Shield. Why do they tell us to bring our car to the dealership but the dealership doesn't honor them. I left Carshield because of false advertisement

    William B.

    05/03/2021

    Please stop those ridiculous untrue commercials on TV about how simple it is to get your Car repaired with Car Shield. All of those fake actors and celebrities just lying their asses off. Do you really believe that actor ICE-T, a millionaire needs a Car Shield Warranty? I've found in my city that most major auto dealerships will not even accept Car Shield aka American Auto Shield. Most people don't even know that it is American Auto Shield is the contract company that approves or disapprove their car getting repaired. And the commercials are not honest about all the red tape bureaucracy policies and protocol that takes place between the repair facility if they accept the warranty and Car Shield aka American Auto Shield. So please I am asking for Car Shield to stop with the misleading commercials using celebrities and fake actors that make it appears so easy and simple to get their automobile repaired. Trust me it is not that simple and can be hell just finding a repair facility that will accept a Car Shield warranty. Car Shield has established a untrustworthy reputation with these car facilities with getting reimbursement for the repairs covered in a timely quick reasonable manner. Do yourself a big favor and tell the truth during your commercials and state that Car Shield is just the vendor selling insurance policies for American Auto Shield. Your TV commercials are not honest.

    Steve C.

    05/03/2021

    I see alot of people claiming to save money. What i do not understand is folks claiming to ssve money, has the service all the sudden became free?

    Adam M.

    03/11/2021

    RIPOFF!! PLZ READ.. I broke a crank in my 2015 chevy Silverado, clearly a covered part. This company tried from the beginning to deny my claim with one thing after another. After the repair facility and myself jumped through all the hoops my claim was denied. My truck had to go to two different repair places because when they tell you that any certified mechanic can do the work, they lie. Therevis an ungodly amount of licenses that they apparently have to have, so my truck was towed to a chevy dealership for repair. The first mechanic took the air box off of my truck to start diagnosis and placed it in passenger floor board. The second repair facility didnt realize this so when they sent pics, as requested, the air box was not on truck. My claim was denied because there was no air box. I am attempting now to have claim reopened but I'm getting bounced around. I will continue to keep you all up to date and you can also check at amcdowell623@gmail.com and I will let you know how this is handled

    Jim S.

    03/04/2021

    Do not buy into this policy. The CS team at Carshield are very polite but if or when you put a claim in your turned over to American Shield. Not near as kind or understanding. They sent in a non certified diesel mechanic to inspect my issue. He was late which created a much higher cost in rental car. They refused by stating it did not cover an item outside my Turbo and that was the COF. I spoke to the Service Mgr at the dealer and he told me it was the PIN and actuator inside the Turbo. The PIN was bent. Dealers are typically higher in cost (explains a lot). The mgr also told me he has NEVER seen Carshield cover a repair. I've already canceled my policy and looking for a extended warranty with a more legitimate company. Check out BBB and read the complaints. I gave them 1 star for the kind CS staff at Carshield.

    Kelvin B.

    02/24/2021

    Can't figure out how to leave zero stars. I have a repair for a faulty part that is a covered part. But, it is an expensive repair so they have been stalling and making the repair facility jump through hoops for WEEKS to resolve this. If they were any good, I was hoping to keep them for years. They "cover" all the parts I need covered, but I have been without my car for three weeks and they are still playing games. Could not be more disappointed in their service at this point.

    Priscill N.

    02/24/2021

    The worst rip off ever and I warned my sister. The shop made sure to call and let them know maintenance is being done and was told to move forward my sister paid her deductible in full and now carshield does not want to pay their part. Mechanic is expecting my sister to bring the car back so they can take the parts off. Just so wrong on all levels I do not understand how they can just rip people off.

    Patrick H.

    02/24/2021

    Confusion on the part of Representatives. My Wife bought a new car and called to remove car covered that was traded. The representative removed my car instead and leaving the car traded in policy. My Wife called to fix situation and the representative yelled at her and nothing was done to fix. My Wife called back and got her traded car off of policy, however My car was not put back on policy. This was the most horrible customer service I have ever been aware of.

    Christopher L.

    02/19/2021

    Do not buy a warranty from Car shield. They will sell you on coverage but when you have a break down or need a repair they will not cover it. They only sell the policy for auto shield, auto shield will do everything possible to avoid paying a claim. They will not pay any claims on anything that has a technical service bulletin on it . They are rude will hang up on you and pass you off back and fourth to car shield and nothing will get resolved.

    Antoinette P.

    02/19/2021

    Horrible, they do not have the customers intrest at heart. American auto shield is the warranty company that they use and they all car auto facilities to charge the customers up for repairs. They don't communicate with the customers unless you call them. I have had two bad experience so far and each time they did not have my best interest when it came down to the mechanic. "DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE:

    Marsha C.

    02/19/2021

    Very disappointed in car sheild ripped me off. Paid them for over 2 years, Never missed a payment.

    Marlen V.

    02/19/2021

    Do not get this warranty!!! they do not tell you that when you need a repair and it is an expensive part like (alternator) they want to mail in the parts to the shop you take it to and some shops dont want to do that so, it would be okay if they would tell you at the beginning how there buisness works instead of wasting your time taking your vehicle to a repair shop and then they tell you that they HAVE TO MAIL IN THE PARTS!!RIDICULES!!!wast of time and money if you just want to be towing your vehicle to different repair shops. No good!!!

    Mid led lied to pissed off ripped off 4$1500. D.

    02/19/2021

    Don’t pay car shield anything they will rip you off crooks $1500. They took and I didn’t get car fixed all I got was excuses then they told me my car motor had sludge, that disqualified me.

    Steven A.

    02/19/2021

    OK.... Now if Car Shield is sooooo great....why does the BBB give them a POOR RATING???....Why doesn't Car Shield ever list the TRUE FACTS on what their consumers really say about them??? Why doesn't CAR SHIELD ever give out the full names on TV....you only say....John P....Kathy M...Mark J.....damn lies

    Anita B.

    02/15/2021

    You have to purchase a plan before you know exactly what will be covered on your vehicle. They have no brochures you can read about each plan..cant know what's in it until you purchase it..

    Chris C.

    01/19/2021

    There needs to be way to give negative stars. This 5 star system is insufficient for truly abysmal service. I dropped my vehicle off and called Auto Shield to confirm there would be no issues with getting a rental vehicle. The lady just rattled off the fine print and reassured me there will be no issues. Just email in the receipt at the end for reimbursement. I checked in every week to make sure I was still covered and got the same affirmative response. Now, I get a check thats 1/7th of my total cost of rental for 3 whole weeks my vehicle was in the shop. Something that could be easily have been avoided If I wasn't flat out lied to in the repeatedly. After I called to question getting low-balled, a service rep ( a Ms. Markita) who either has no comprehension of customer service or just doesn't care about her job swiftly transfers me to a Supervisor in a classic "I ain't got time for this" scenario. The supervisor (Margerita) also reads the Fine print to me as a work-around for not actually committing to resolving anything. Neither provided employee numbers or any info to better identify the employee like any other company. They are wholly untrustworthy. Just read other reviews. I'm gladly taking taking up the issue with BBB and jumping ship to a better service provider. It's unfortunate since Carshield (the vendors) seem like a great company.

    Z E.

    12/31/2020

    Please don’t use this company they don’t pay for anything. I was told to get a rental car and they will pay up to $280 and they didn’t. I also had to come out my pocket for the repairs to my vehicle. PLEASE DONT USE THIS COMPANY YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED. Thank me later

    Michael J.

    12/31/2020

    This is the worst company to deal with. Car went down and they didn't want to replace engine instead they replaced one lifter, when the car needed all lifter replaced and will not pay for fuel pump replacement. The BBB needs to stop them from false advertisements on North Carolina TV commercials.

    Latoya A.

    10/05/2020

    Carshield went out of there way to make sure I was taken care of.i would recommend carshield warranty to anyone who wants bumper to bumper coverage on their car

    Mark Z.

    10/02/2020

    Nothing worse then then Carshield warranty, Please don’t waste your hard earned money!

    Megan S.

    10/01/2020

    I would not purchase this warranty if i could go back in time .Its like pulling teeth to get help

    Robert J.

    09/29/2020

    LISA L.

    09/29/2020

    i have been paying my monthly policy for the past 7 months and now when i need to use it all the major dealers does not except this company. The customer service is not helpful basically its garbage and all they want is your money.

    Anthony A.

    09/24/2020

    The sales process was easy and i feel that i got a very fair price .

    Brian o.

    09/24/2020

    I'm a person that likes to be prepared in case anything bad happens so I purchased carshield contract

    Laura m.

    09/22/2020

    Excellent. Great service!

    Tee M.

    09/21/2020

    I wish I could give negative stars. I bought this warranty for my teenage son's '06 Miata he bought. The first thing they denied was the cannister purge valve. Then he had complete engine failure even though he had an oil change a month ago, the engine had no oil and no leaks. They denied the engine replacement. Waste of money and more importantly, a complete loss of faith in CarShield. We are doing an appeal though so stay tuned....

    Gerald N.

    09/15/2020

    The rep was great he explained everything to me clearly and thoroughly I feel like a got a good deal with a good company .

    Jerel M.

    09/14/2020

    Do not waste your money or time with car sheild they will take your money and cancel your policy with out fixing your vehicle. It took over two months of having my truck in the shop having my transmission worked on, it was all torn apart and they finally had an adjuster come out to inspect the trans and he canceled my policy because I had aftermarket parts on my truck. I had no idea this would cancel my policy. Now I'm stuck with the bill to repair my truck. Why didn't they tell me this up front. I would have not waisted my time or money with them.

    Marcus G.

    09/09/2020

    I got a phone call and a price a long time ago after my car warranty ended . i called back a few mounts later and still got the same price .even tho i had more miles

    Tim A.

    09/09/2020

    I needed a new battery but carshield did not cover it.

    Bobby O.

    09/09/2020

    I've been with Carshield for about three years and recently my transmission had to be replaced. It was great speaking to their customer service and I had no issues getting my claim taken care of.

    Bob W.

    09/04/2020

    The rep offered a excellent quote and payment plan that just made sense to us .

    Rich N.

    09/01/2020

    Most affable company that offered monthly payment plans on my truck that had over 150000 miles on it

    Terry V.

    09/01/2020

    The experience I had with Carshield was fantastic.

    Ivor C.

    08/31/2020

    Waited a full 3 weeks before I could get the A/C Condenser and ancillary parts replaced! Spent a total of 11 hours on the phone, repairers also spent about 4 hours to get someone to speak to. At one stage, American Car Shield sent out an inspector to check that what I was claiming for was legitimate! Even then, had to escalate to a supervisor before some action was taken, because for some strange reason, the record of the inspection could not be found! Just found that, in the heat of summer, being without A/C for 3 weeks was just ridiculous!! Needless to say, even though the repair was finally done - I am NOT happy with American Car Shield or their Customer NO Service.

    Randy O.

    08/28/2020

    Having Carshield warranty is a bank saver!!

    Lisa U.

    08/26/2020

    My experience was very good my car was repaired d in a 3 day period

    Vivian D.

    08/20/2020

    I have a 2003 CRV Honda milage 105,100miles

    Adam C.

    08/19/2020

    Buyer beware: After purchasing the platinum contract, I called around and found that many dealers refuse to work with CarShield directly due to low-balling claims representatives who prefer to use used or remanufactured parts (which the contract allows). Bottom line: Great sales pitch, but don’t expect the easy claims process and freedom of mechanic choice promised by the sales reps. CarShield reserves the right to disapprove service, move your vehicle to multiple low-cost repair shops, and use remanufactured, used, or aftermarket “or equal” parts.

    Lisa E.

    08/18/2020

    very simple to understand warranty

    Tonekia T.

    08/17/2020

    Horrible Service, I stayed at dealership all day for them to contact us, just to tell me they didn't cover my air conditioner part. Paid over $600 out of pocket for my repairs.

    Jason H.

    08/17/2020

    This is the easiest warranty company to work with..Will defiantly recommend to my family and co workers !

    Lisa D.

    08/14/2020

    Great experience so far !

    Latisha H.

    08/14/2020

    I am happy with CarShield. I talked to my garage that would accept this warranty.

    Lisa D.

    08/10/2020

    I first saw Carshield on tv and figured that i had hi miles and they could not really cover it .I still gave them a call and i was able to get a 3 year powertrain warranty. I am pretty satisfied with the monthly price also .

    Mark B.

    08/07/2020

    My car has been in the shop for EIGHT days and CarShield refuses to return my or my repair facility's phone calls or respond to the online claim I filed or the follow-u service ticket I filed. The contract says if I initiate car repairs before their approval then the contract may not pay for them. How many more weeks do I have to wait? ---> RIP-OFF <---

    Terry S.

    08/07/2020

    They say they cover a lot my repair shop did not agree

    Pattie S.

    08/05/2020

    My dealership has a very expensive labor rate compared to other repair shops $250 per hour and carshield paid for that with out a issue

    Jack W.

    08/03/2020

    Very short hold time .Quick service when they are needed

    Lisa V.

    07/31/2020

    Had Carshield for 2 years and anytime i need the they are at my service .keep up the good work

    Howard W.

    07/30/2020

    purchased this product in 2019 thirty days later had engine troubles and your company would only cover 400 dollars of a ten thousand dollars repair and still haven't covered the rental fees!!!!!! Ripoff

    Teri V.

    07/30/2020

    It took no more than one hour to get payment confirmation. very easy car warranty to use

    Dianna P.

    07/29/2020

    When I purchase the service contract they said they would cover pretty much anything and everything regardless of what it throughout him and they ended up covering nothing and are not willing to budge on any of the above so would not recommend might wanna think about this

    Jock W.

    07/29/2020

    Does not cover major dealerships

    Ralph L.

    07/22/2020

    We had a grate price and the rep that helped us was very kind and clear on what the warranty would cover

    Dianna P.

    07/17/2020

    They tell you all things all kinds of things are covered but whenever you take it to the shop and actually go to get it covered they don't cover hardly anything they don't cover simple transmission things they don't cover gaskets they don't cover the just many different things use your cut use caution when you go

    Michelle S.

    07/17/2020

    Tried twice to get warranty work done on my car and was denied twice. I later found out that the AC compressor was covered. The rear differential is going out on my car took it to mechanic & once again got denied even though this is specifically listed in my plan info. We could not afford to get the repair done BUT we had a $300 labor charge. Thank goodness we have been using the same shop for years and he only charged us half. These 3rd party warranty companies don't take the labor charges in to consideration, at the very least they should pay all but the deductable amount. So what I thought was a good deal when Car Shield cold called me just cost me an additional $150. All of these companies are rip offs and I recommend that no one spend their money on them.

    Randy W.

    07/16/2020

    I got the best price from carshield right off the bat . No games

    Tom C.

    07/14/2020

    Paid 2 or 3 grand for warranty that was 100,000 miles and I only drove a little over 10,000 miles when getting loud sound in engine with lost of power. Took it to garage and was asked to provide receipts for oil changes past 3 years which I did. Garage said the engine needed replaced. Warranty company demanded I paid garage $1000 to take engine out and open it for review. After paying and doing this, warranty company said that due to my high mileage it was considered normal wear and tear and refused to pay anything. Seems strange to pay for a 100,000 mile warranty when anytime they can just claim normal tear and tear and refuse to pay. Not only did I lose out on warranty cost, but and additional $1000 to have engine opened up and storage of vehicle leading to complete lost of vehicle! What a rip off...

    William A.

    07/14/2020

    extremely nice and very informative.

    John L.

    07/13/2020

    If you want genuine comfort with your warranty coverage Car Shield is the very best! Service and personnel are 5 star indeed.

    Andy Q.

    07/13/2020

    Thank you for all the help during signing up

    Larry D.

    07/13/2020

    Amazing service at affordable price. I would definitely recommend Carshield to my family.

    Lisa K.

    07/10/2020

    Fast and reliable company ! I recommend Carshield

    Thonda M.

    07/09/2020

    Forest C.

    07/07/2020

    Ray C.

    07/07/2020

    I got the best price for the best level package with Carshield .between the top 3 company.

    Mike T.

    07/02/2020

    I started a warranty plan with CarShield . It was great that I didn't have to wait to speak to someone. The rep. answered did not transfer me and was very nice .

    Mark E.

    07/02/2020

    My Chevy had a A/C Condenser go out it took a little back and forth between the shop and carshield but i got it fully covered thru my car warranty

    Cindy E.

    07/01/2020

    I am definitely a happy customer.

    Theresa Y.

    06/19/2020

    Carshield would cover me all the way up to 200,000.

    Scott J.

    06/16/2020

    My plan just started for a Nissan we purchased let’s see how things g...,I would definitely recommend this company.

    Deborah J.

    06/12/2020

    DO NOT BUY SCAM

    Richard F.

    06/11/2020

    Leon A.

    06/11/2020

    I had is a 2019 truck so I looked to get an extended auto warranty. I called carshield and I liked what I was told. Everything was very easy.

    Dave S.

    06/11/2020

    bumper-to-bumper is what i got bumper-to-bumper

    Christina ..

    06/04/2020

    I seen the commercial on tv and it sounded like a winner on top of the fact that my extended warranty had just expired. I called and spoke to Alec, he was very helpful and patient with me. He answered every question without hesitation. He went over what was covered and what was not. I have not used my policy as of yet, so I can't say whether the claims area is just as easy as the call was. I will review at that time. I do like the fact that I have 60 days for a full refund if I do not like my purchase as long as I don't use it. :)

    Levi W.

    06/03/2020

    I called to get a quote and the salesman insults me twice and I was sold on it before I called.

    Frank O.

    06/03/2020

    i like that i can pay as i go .very competitive pricing

    Fred H.

    05/27/2020

    Friendly and supportive sales team i asked a lot of questions and did my research... thank you

    Gail O.

    05/27/2020

    they gave me the lowest monthly payment so i went with carshield

    Robert S.

    05/20/2020

    I purchased an extended warranty with Carshield in 2016. My truck ... ended up needing some work done … The mechanic called for verification and had no issues at all, not once but twice. Each time was followed through with excellent customer service. Would definitely recommend for anyone.

    Ronald B.

    04/23/2020

    Excellent customer service every time i call. Would highly recommend!

    Joseph M.

    04/23/2020

    Great product, excellent customer service and reasonable prices.

    Terence ..

    04/23/2020

    Totally satisfied with the customer service experience and monthly payment that works for my budget.

    Michael E.

    04/23/2020

    Great service

    Hector R.

    04/23/2020

    Pleased with the service.

    Will C.

    04/23/2020

    Carshield was surprisingly very affordable and very reasonable my representative Josh Herron was very friendly and accommodating. I actually expected to pay more than what I paid and I feel very safe and secure. You are not locked into a contract so whenever you want to leave you can if you want but I would not do that.

    Boris D.

    04/23/2020

    My experience so far has been great!

    Chris G.

    04/22/2020

    carShield was helpful and patient in explaining everything. I hope the claims area is as helpful should I ever need it.

    Arkeda ..

    04/22/2020

    I Had a very good experience I will recommend them to anyone!!!!

    Doug S.

    04/22/2020

    Excellent company to work with. Would use again

    Carrie J.

    04/22/2020

    I haven't had the opportunity to use Car Shield for any repairs but whenever I called to ask a question or make changes on my account the representative has always been pleasant and helpful. I am excited about having Car Shield because I truly believe if the time comes that I will need any repairs to my car, they will be me be there for me.

    Harold W.

    04/22/2020

    Worked with me in making adjustments for my payment.

    Ahmed A.

    04/21/2020

    Very helpful explaining details and getting me signed up, got a great deal for my budget, and extremely glad I called! Feel confident that my car is covered...thanks CarShield!!!

    Mike D.

    04/21/2020

    To have reliable back up, after the warranty has ran out, means SO MUCH to me. Thanks.!!

    Andrea Mitchell M.

    04/20/2020

    Jordan Goldstein was great!!! Excellent Customer Service!!!! It was a total pleasure Thank you again, Jordan!!!!

    Dave E.

    04/19/2020

    I have never received the letter that i was told i would received from CarShield after i purchased a plan.

    Javier T.

    04/19/2020

    Very polite and professional, thanks!

    Paulette L.

    04/17/2020

    They were very professional and curtious. Answered all my questions.

    Reginald T.

    04/15/2020

    Carshield has been a phenomenal company to work with. They have been consistent and extremely helpful.

    Joe and Sarah C.

    02/10/2020

    So far so good i have not had to use them on either of my vehicles that i have a plan on we will see if or when I do need them how they really preform

    Larry G.

    05/13/2017

    The agent was excellent, kind, helpful, experienced!

    Ron T.

    05/02/2017

    This service protected my car and they covered my breakdowns as we agreed .

    Elizabeth O.

    04/12/2017

    Car shield is GREAT . The customer service is top notch and for the price you get more than what the other company was offering.

    Disclosure: A Vehicle Service Contract (VSC) is often referred to as an "auto warranty" or an "extended car warranty," but it is not a warranty. A VSC does, however, provide repair coverage for your vehicle after the manufacturer’s car warranty expires. A VSC is a contract between you and a VSC provider or administrator that states what is a covered repair
  • © 2020. Auto Warranty Reviews.com